I Don’t Feel At Home In This World Anymore (2017)

I Don’t Feel At Home In This World Anymore (2017)
written and directed by Macon Blair
starring: Melanie Lynskey, Elijah Wood

I Don’t Feel At Home Anymore In This World was the easiest-to-watch films I have seen in a while. I had not heard much about it, just enough to suggest that I might like it. And boy did I!

Melanie Lynskey (Heavenly Creatures) is just fantastic. She brings wonderful life to her character Ruth, playing a normal person at both her most vulnerable and most powerful. We can relate to Ruth as she decides which bullshit to take and when to stand up for herself. This is highlighted in a couple of scenes towards the beginning of her interactions with an elderly patient (she is a nurse assistant). We get a good gauge of how big Ruth’s pile is. As patient as she is, she is obviously tired of shoveling.

IDFAHITWA is full of great “characters”. While Ruth feels like an everywoman to me, the rest of the characters feel more distinct and unique. This is not a bad thing and it totally works. We want and need to cheer for her because she is us. Elijah Woods’ Tony is one of these “characters” and is quirky perfection. From his awesome sidecut and rattail to his dog named Kevin, Tony is just so likeable for me. I read a lot of descriptions of Tony as obnoxious, but I did not find him that way at all. If anything he is just quiet and misunderstood. Get to know him and he is a solid guy who just wants to help. I loved Tony and would be happy to have him as a neighbour. I also recently watched Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency to get get a bigger Elijah Woods fix.

Other great “characters” from this movie:
> Detective William Bendix (Gary Anthony Williams) – also someone at the end of his rope, just trying to get through; also willing to call people (Ruth) on their bullshit (a very funny scene at his desk at the police station); he is stressed to the max, comically so
> Christian (Devon Graye) – creepy AF guy who is bad news
> Meredith Rumack (Christine Woods) – Christian’s mom, a rich housewife who rolls with the punches to beat the boredom of privilege

I Don’t Feel At Home In This World Anymore is a great watch. It has so much going for it (comedy, action, blood, ninja stars) and while not an outright horror film I recommend you check it out. How awful people are can be a very scary thing, and revenge is a well-known horror theme. Macon Blair did a bang up job with this film and I look forward to more projects from him.

AWARD: best use of a plaster cast of a shoe print

Leave a Reply

